.
News Alert
Top 20 High Schools In New Jersey: Middlesex…

East Brunswick in Annual Crackdown on Holiday Drunk Driving

'Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over' campaign will increase saturation patrols and sobriety checkpoints during the holiday season.

With the arrival of the holiday season, so brings an historical uptick in the number of impaired drivers on the road.

As a result, East Brunswick Police will once again be participating in the statewide “Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over” campaign running through Jan. 2. The department was one of 144 agencies throughout the state that received grants of $4,400 from the Division of Highway Traffic Safety for the program. 

During “Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over,” local and state law enforcement agencies will increase saturation patrols and sobriety checkpoints, in addition to raising awareness about the dangers of drunk driving through enforcement and education tools.

“During the holiday season, law enforcement officials always see a jump in the number of drunk and impaired drivers,” said Division of Highway Traffic Safety Acting Director Gary Poedubicky. “Police will be targeting those drivers and once again this effort will send the message that if you chose to drink and drive, you will be arrested every time, no exception.”

Throughout New Jersey, 19 percent of all motor vehicle fatalities were alcohol-related, while 4,169 people were killed in drunk driving crashes during the combined months of December from 2007 to 2011 nationwide, according to police. 

In 2012, there were 158 fatalities involving impaired drivers in New Jersey, which accounted for 27 percent of 589 total crash fatalities.

Last year during the "Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over" crackdown, there were 1,555 DUI arrests, in addition to 5,138 speeding summonses and 3,113 seat belt summonses, with more than 1,600 fugitives were apprehended during the campaign statewide, according to police.

A person is guilty of drunk driving in New Jersey if they get behind the wheel with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. However, people can be convicted of driving under the influence even if their BAC is below 0.08 percent. Consuming any amount of alcohol that negatively impacts driving can lead to a drunk driving conviction, according to the Division of Highway Traffic Safety.

Penalties for a first DWI arrest include fines of up to $500 and a one-year driver’s license suspension. Auto insurance surcharges can also rise several thousand dollars.

“No one ever thinks that their holiday celebration will end in jail, or worse, in a hospital,” Poedubicky said.  “But for those who include alcohol in their celebrations and then get behind the wheel, this is often the case.”

WMS826 December 15, 2013 at 05:56 PM
What a joke...they way these guys pump up DWI,s every day is a crack down. Just which ones are truly drunk and deserved to be arrested is the million dollar question.
Jarhead December 16, 2013 at 10:15 AM
And they never publish which DWI's get tossed in court or plea down to lesser offense. Hire a lawyer.
Wwe Tensai December 16, 2013 at 12:21 PM
What exactly is the $4400 grant from the state for? Isn't pulling over drunk drivers part of the police' job while patrolling?
Jarhead December 16, 2013 at 04:27 PM
So is texting while driving or yackking on a cell phone illegal. See that enforced in EB lately? Beware the soccer mom in the earth mover SUV with the cell phone in her ear and one eye on the road. This with two kids in the back seat without seat belts. Get out of my way, I'm late for my morning latte!!!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something